Pro Supex Dynamic Energy and Babolat Aero Pro Drive

by

I’ve owned a Pro Supex Dynamic Energy for about a year now, and I must say that I’m a fan. It’s a good racket, one that provides excellent access to spin, isn’t string sensitive at all (meaning that whatever string I throw in the racket usually feels pretty good), gives me with a bit of extra oomph on the days when I’m not feeling it, and is just an all around great frame. It’s not my preferred weapon on the courts, but I do enjoy the racket.

Today, I finally got the opportunity to try out the Babolat Aero Pro Drive Cortex (APDC), the racket upon which the Dynamic Energy is based, and is reputed to play very similarly to. The Dynamic Energy was a 4 ½ with a Prince calfskin leather grip and a Slazenger overgrip. The Babolat APDC on the other hand was completely stock, down to the Syntec grip. The Dynamic Energy weighed in at around 12 ounces, while the Babolat around 11 ounces. The following are my observations:

Power: There is no doubt in my mind that the APDC is more powerful. It provides more oomph off the ground and on the serve. I hit the hardest serves I’ve ever hit today. However, this is not to say that the Dynamic Energy lacks power- there’s plenty of power to be had. However, there is a notable difference.

Control: These both have about the same amount of control. I did not find myself hitting out more often with either frame, and I did not feel that there was a lack of control. The APDC was able to tame its own power by providing excellent topspin. Speaking of which…

Spin: I must give a slight nod to the APDC. While both rackets are spin machines, the APDC is able to generate more spin on all shots. Slice shots were beautiful coming off of this racket. Again, I must stress that both rackets provide excellent spin.

Maneuverability: Considering that the APDC is a full ounce lighter, it’s more maneuverable. It’s easier to get into position at the net, and whips through the air a bit faster. The Dynamic Energy is not exactly sluggish, but it’s a bit harder to position on those reaction shots.

Comfort: Here is a category in which the Pro Supex COMPLETELY blows away the Babolat. I have never experienced tennis elbow, but today my elbow was definitely in pain. The Babolat is incredibly stiff, and that stiffness is very evident. While I can’t say that either racket was jarring on off center hits, the Babolat lacks the weight/stability and the moderate flex of the Dynamic Energy. If you’ve been having trouble with tennis elbow, the Babolat is NOT a frame that should be on your demo list.

Overall: In my opinion, the Pro Supex Dynamic Energy is an excellent imitation of the Aero Pro Drive line. While the two are not the same, the two play similarly enough that there is very little doubt they’re related. If you lead up your rackets and are looking for a heavier Aero Pro Drive in stock form, the Dynamic Energy is an excellent racket to consider. If you’ve been enjoying the Aero Pro Drive, but not so much that tennis elbow that comes with it, try the Dynamic Energy. Considering the $65+ difference in price, there is no doubt in my mind that the Dynamic Energy is a worthy alternative to the Aero Pro Drive.  Head on over to the Tennis Depot to pick one up today!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Pro Supex Dynamic Energy and Babolat Aero Pro Drive”

  1. John Says:

    Excellent comparison! The Dynamic Energy is indeed an excellent racquet.

Leave a Reply

