Genesis Typhoon Review

by

Genesis Typhoon String Review

The following is a playtest review received by a customer:

String was strung on a Gamma 7.0 MP at 57/61.  The machine used was an Alpha String Pal, a dropweight machine.  For the past season, I’d used a Wilson Natural Gut 16/E-force Fluid 18 hybrid. Before the season, I’d experimented with polyester on and off for about a year. My favorite poly is Kirschbaum Competition 16 for the solid feel it gives, as well as its relative long life span.

Initial comments- stringing:  The string comes in a very nice little package- very sharp. Coil memory is far below average- very little. The string did not coil up on the floor as most polys do, it spread out. Just handling the string, you feel the twisting of the string and the unevenness.

The string was quite a bit EASIER to string than most polys, at least for me. Weaving the string, while slightly painful (it was a little more painful than usual because of how much my hands had taken a beating during the AP World examination), was easier than usual. The string felt softer than most polys I’ve strung.

Knots cinched up very nicely. From appearances only, this stuff looks quite like Alu.

How it played:

The racket was strung up about 4 pm on Thursday afternoon, and I hit with it on Sunday morning, and again on Monday morning. There was definitely some tension lost in the first few hours, but then the tension held steady.

This stuff absolutely blew me away. While a lot of polys I have tried have this weird plastic-y feeling to them, Typhoon is extremely solid. It feels, for lack of a better word, substantial. The string is undoubtedly powerful. Keep in mind that my tennis season just finished two weeks ago, and for the duration of that two month season, I played pretty much every day with a Wilson Natural Gut hybrid. Truly, you don’t get that much more powerful than that. Today was the first time I’d played since the season ended, and I was really impressed how powerful Typhoon was, even compared to a gut hybrid. No, I am not saying that Typhoon has gut like power. However, for anybody wishing to move to a poly from a multi or synthetic gut, this string would be a very nice place to start, as it provides more power than any other poly I’ve ever tried.

The feel from this string is a tad bit lacking. Granted, I’ve become a bit used to the feel of natural gut, but the string provides no sense of pocketing. The ball touches the string, and then seems to rebound right back. On touch shots, it’s a bit difficult to gauge exactly how the shot left the strings. Did I put enough spin on it? Enough power? Etc… This was one aspect of the string that I was not impressed by.

On the issue of spin, I was not blown away at the spin capabilities, but they are quite impressive. One of the things I missed the most when I used natural gut was the relative lack of spin I could put on the ball. While Typhoon doesn’t spin the heck out of the ball as, say, Alu Rough, the spin that it does provide is indeed quite impressive. Compared to the Kirschbaum Competition I have sitting in my other racket, my topspin shots bounced higher, my slices skidded lower, and my kick serves were more deadly. If you’re looking for a string that can add some spin to your game, this string is a MUST try.

For the all important characteristic of control… there is no doubt that this string does not lack. With the comment above about the power of the string, one would think that control must be quite bad. Not so. The spin provided by the string was easily able to tame the power. Shots that I could have sworn would go out dipped at the last minute and hit the baseline. I had absolutely no fear of pounding away at shots knowing that they would land in. And they did.

Comparison to Luxilon Alu Power Rough:

It’s been a while, actually, quite a long while since I last played with Luxilon Alu Power Rough. From memory though, Alu Rough is a superior performing string… in the first few hours. Genesis Typhoon is a GREAT string, perhaps one of the best I’ve ever used. However, Alu Rough just had this… magic to it that puts everything in the court with great accuracy and spin. Unfortunately, Alu Rough just died on me after 2 sessions. That previous power, spin, accuracy all went away. It was alright playing after those initial few hours, but not particularly great. Genesis Typhoon on the other hand starts off playing great, and ends playing great. From the very first shot until around 10-12 hours later, Typhoon has consistently great performance. You KNOW exactly how the forehand is going to feel. You KNOW that your shot is going to drop in right at the baseline. Alu Rough has a slight edge over it in the beginning, but after 3-4 hours of play, while Alu Rough is dead, Typhoon keeps on shining. Considering that Typhoon is under ½ the price of Alu Rough in reel form, there is no doubt in my mind that Typhoon is a better value.

Final comments:

Genesis really nailed it on this string. It performs amazingly, does not lose tension, plays consistently through the life of the string (which is VERY long), and feels far more solid than many of its competitors. It should be noted that Typhoon should NOT be strung at a lower tension as most polys should be. String this as you would synthetic gut, and prepare to be amazed. If you use Kirschbaum Spiky Shark, Babolat RPM Blast, Tecnifibre Black Code, Luxilon M2, try the Genesis Typhoon today!

For more information on the Genesis line of strings, please visit: http://www.thetennisdepot.com/tennis-strings/genesis.html

2 Responses to “Genesis Typhoon Review”

  1. IM-Academy.com — Blog — The Tennis Depot Blog Says:

    […] On the issue of spin, I was not blown away at the spin capabilities, but they are quite impressive. One of the things I missed the most when I used natural gut was the relative lack of spin I could put on the ball. … Unfortunately, Alu Rough just died on me after 2 sessions. That previous power, spin, accuracy all went away. It was alright playing after those initial few hours, but not particularly great. Genesis Typhoon on the other hand starts off playing great, …Read More… […]

  2. String Base Blog Says:

    Genesis Typhoon 16l Tennis…

    […] ay morning, and again on Monday morning. There was definitely some tension lost […]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

